STC Election 2018: Who I voted for

The annual STC election, for members of the Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee, is underway. If you’re a member, you should have received a link to the election website (send email to if you have not). We have until 9 March to vote, and it’s important to do so. The Society needs our active involvement. You can find out more about the election slate here.

For what it’s worth, here’s who I voted for this year.

For Vice President: Ben Woelk

Headshot of Ben Woelk
Ben Woelk

Ben is a President’s Award winner, an Associate Fellow, and has been very active in his chapter, the Spectrum regional conference, the Society (particularly the scholarship committee), and the Community Affairs Committee on which we both serve. He has generously shared his time and knowledge with many of us. I agree with him that the primary challenge the Society faces is demographic, not just technological. If he approaches the role with the same vigor with which he has approached the campaign, he will accomplish a lot!

For Secretary: Kirsty Taylor (incumbent)

Headshot of Kirsty Taylor (from STC Board photo)
Kirsty Taylor

Kirsty is running unopposed for re-election, but she is a long-time active member who has been an effective Secretary. To use a cliché, consider that she has put her money where her mouth is by traveling to Board events from Australia. Now that’s commitment. She has earned my continued support.

For Director: Ramesh Aiyyangar and Alisa Bonsignore (incumbent)

Headshot of Ramesh Aiyyangar
Ramesh Aiyyangar

Ramesh is a past president and fifteen-year active member of the India Chapter, an Associate Fellow, a Distinguished Chapter Service Award winner, and, as I can attest, an energetic and effective member of the CAC. He recognizes the importance of moving past retention to a growth strategy for STC by expanding both our reach and our breadth. He would bring a welcome and important perspective to the Board. His work ethic, dedication, and perseverance continues to earn my vote.

Headshot of Alisa Bonsignore from official Board photo
Alisa Bonsignore

Alisa, who is running for re-election, recognizes the importance of the CPTC program, which of course appeals to me. But she also recognizes that membership and revenue growth, not budget cutting, are the keys to our future.


For Nominating Committee: Jackie Damrau and MaryKay Grueneberg

Headshot of Jackie Damrau
Jackie Damrau

Everybody in STC knows Jackie, who has been active at the Society level forever, it seems. This is an ideal attribute for a member of the Nominating Committee, and indeed she has served on the committee before. Jackie has also been a chapter president, regional conference manager, SIG leader, and member of multiple Society-Level committees. Unsurprisingly in light of her contributions to the Society, she is a Fellow. I admire her ongoing willingness to serve at the chapter and Society levels.

Headshot of MaryKay Grueneberg
MaryKay Grueneberg

Like me, MaryKay has been a technical writer since she graduated from college. She has been a chapter president and has served on several Society-level committees. She is an Associate Fellow. I think she has the appropriate breadth of experience and contacts to go a good job on the committee.

Published by Steven Jong

I am a retired technical communicator, a Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication (STC), a former STC board member, and chair of the first STC Certification Commission. I occasionally blog about these and other topics.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: